Sarah Wilson's PR Blog

October 26, 2009

Poynter NewsU course “The Language of the Image”

Filed under: PRCA 3339 — swilso37 @ 10:15 am

What I learned in taking “The Language of the Image” course from Poynter NewsU was the numerous types of photographs/photography there are. There is a lot more than you think to the the technique in photography. I never knew that there was such a large amount of thought when it comes to analyzing the pictures. While taking the quiz after reviewing all the different terms in the course, I realized that I may be able to point out an interesting picture, however, I do not have the eye for naming the different elements and techniques in the photograph.

What surprised me in this course was the different types of portraits. I would have never known that there were different types until this course. I wish this course was more interactive though. I did not like the overall set-up of the course. However, it was free, so that was a huge bonus.

What I would like to know more about is how the photographer sees the elements before he/she captures the moment. Does he/she even know that the picture displays all those graphics, elements or techniques? I need to know more from a photographers point of view!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

