Sarah Wilson's PR Blog

November 16, 2009

Diversity Calendar Blog

Filed under: International PR — swilso37 @ 9:34 pm

picture of the menu taken by me from my Blackberry

On Monday, November 16, 2009, I attended Georgia Southern’s International Week: A Diner’s World Tour. The event took place at Landrum located on GSU’s campus. It was hosted by the Department of International Studies. After talking with the food services manager at Landrum, I found out that the event is held every year, and the department submits recipes to the cooks of Landrum, they make the food themselves.

The menu was made up of:

  • Jerk Chicken – a Jamaican barbeque
  • Tonkatsu – an Asian style pork chop
  • Bobotie – a South African original which is similar to meatloaf
  • German Potato Salad – vinegar based
  • Rice with Herbes de Provence
  • Korean Squash
  • Brazilian Collards
  • Baklava – a rich, sweet pastry featured in many cuisines in the area once controlled by the former Ottoman Empire, in Central Asia and in the lands in between. It and its variants are thus popular in Turkey, the Balkans, Cyprus, much of the Arab world, Iran, the Caucasus, Afghanistan and the lands of the Turkic peoples of Central Asia.

The majority of people at the event were GSU students. From my observation, most of the students appeared to be freshmen. I did not notice anyone who looked as if they were of a different nationality other than American. The food was a good representation of each culture that had an item on the menu; however, I believe the presentation of each cuisine could have been better. It was presented like any other cafeteria food that’s served at Landrum. Maybe they should consider having each dish on a small table of its own decorated with the nation’s flag. Also, a brief history/cultural tradition of the dish could also be displayed on the table. This will create more of a diverse feeling/scenery at the event.

Some information that I learned from the event is that Bobotie is almost exactly like a meatloaf, but with a strong taste of curry. I find it very interesting how one distinct spice can change the classic American meatloaf into a rich/flavorful South African favorite.

A similar American event that the World’s Diner Tour reminded me of is a “pot luck dinner”. At a pot luck dinner, everyone brings their own dish and samples everything else that was brought by other individuals. I believe pot luck dinners can relate to the World’s Diner Tour because at the event, people of different heritages and cultures sampled other nation’s cuisines.

At the event, I did not feel any different, or out of place because it was a diverse event; however, as I mentioned earlier, the majority of attendees were American GSU students. The only culture shock for me was being surrounded by freshmen. I truly felt overwhelmed by that, because I am used to Veazey Hall, the communications building on campus or what I like to call my second home. I am senior about to graduate in a couple of weeks, and all of my classes have been in Veazey Hall for the past three semesters. Most students in this building are juniors and seniors.

I believe the event needs to be publicized more. If it were better publicized, maybe more people of different cultures would come and have suggestions about how to make the event more diverse, but honestly, how diverse can an event be in South Georgia?

1 Comment »

  1. You can have a diverse event in South Georgia. This was a good example.

    Comment by Andrews — November 26, 2009 @ 6:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

